bread machine sandwich bread

Juliana took the bread machine to her home. Since I’m in Boston and she’s in DC, she gets to make her own bread. Of course, I decided to keep the bread machine manual–it’s recipes for quick breads uniformly fail, but the yeast breads turn out good every time!

Anyway, the end result is that I have to give Juliana a good recipe for our bread machine. The recipe below is the one that I use as a “standard” (i.e. the one that I start from when figuring out what I’m actually going to bake).

bread machine sandwich bread

2 eggs
1 1/4 c water, hot tap
3 tbs vegetable oil
3 tbs sugar
1/4 c dry milk
2 tsp salt
4 c bread flour
2 1/4 tsp dry yeast

I put it all in the bread machine, makding sure that the yeast doesn’t get wet (because I’m almost always putting it on a delay). I select “medium” crust and a “2 lb loaf”. I’ve found that this bread often rises too much. Also, I typically put in about 1 cup of raisins (per Juliana’s request).

One Response to “bread machine sandwich bread”

  1. linky lurve: feeeeed me! « elle recherche Says:

    […] so it’s not costing a ton of money to make a few loaves. this has led me to what feels like thousands of variations on my theme. i’ll let you know what if anything finally […]


Leave a Reply

